DUI laws in Illinois
The state of Illinois laws states stricter laws for DUI offense, driving under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicants such as the drugs. According to DUI lawyers in Illinois, an individual may cause his/her driver’s license to suspend for minimum 12 months if he/she refuses to administer the test for finding out the Blood Alcohol Concentration levels. For refusing to take the test for second time, driver’s license will be suspended for minimum three years. If the person is convicted of Driving under the Influence in the state of Illinois, the person will face the punishment of minimum 12 months and a civil penalty of $2500.
Some important things to note about DUI laws in Illinois
If a person has committed DUI offense for the first time, he/she has the privilege to apply for Ignition Interlock Device that detects the amount of alcohol consumed prior to starting the engine of motor vehicle. It is best advised not to drink and drive to avoid causing injury or harm to lives of your own and others.
The level of Blood Alcohol Concentration is different in different situations –
“Per se” limit of BAC is 0.08% or more
Underage or Zero Tolerance limit for BAC is 0.00%
Aggravated or Enhanced Penalty requires BAC to be 0.16 %
There is Implied Consent to administer the BAC test
Penalties charged for DUI offense
Minimum suspension or revocation of driver’s license –
-> Pre-conviction during Ist offense can result in driver’s your license to suspend for 3 months
-> Pre-conviction during the 2nd offense can result your driver’s license to suspend for 1 year
-> Pre-conviction during 3rd offense can result in license suspension for 1 year
-> Post-conviction during Ist offense can result in driver’s your license to suspend for 12 months
-> Post-conviction during the 2nd offense can result your driver’s license to suspend for 5 years
-> Post-conviction during 3rd offense can result in license suspension for 10 years
It is mandatory for the charged to take education, treatment and assessment for alcohol consumption
DUI offense can possibly result in vehicle Confiscation
When an individual has repeatedly committed DUI offense, he/she is required to take Ignition Interlock Device. The court may ask the person to take IID when he/she is granted the restricted license.
According to DUI lawyers in Illinois, Driving Under the Influence of drugs, alcohol, intoxicating substance or their combination is listed under 625 ILCS 5/11-501.
DUI laws in Illinois are stringent and deter its private citizens to fall into the hands of crime. The best way to avoid committing any crime is to prevent getting into the circumstances that arise, compelling the person to make wrong decisions. If you are ever in the situation where you are impaired and unfit to drive the motor vehicle, you can always call your friend or the member of your family. Also, if that is not possible, you may either avoid consuming such substance that impair you or wait till the time the symptoms are worn off.